Page 1 of 1

Channel missing after call sign change?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2015 8:10 am
by GameGod
This is an issue I noticed on a cable lineup (Comcast - Digital (94536) CA04683:X). The TruTV channel seems to be changing it's call sign in the next few days, and the json service doesn't have any listings beyond the change.

I investigated a bit, and looks like, via the xmltv service, the station shows up twice once as "truTVHD" (64490) and as "truTVHP" (65717). The latter station is missing from the json listings.

Can this please be looked at?

Thanks.

Re: Channel missing after call sign change?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2015 12:09 pm
by rkulagow
Once the lineup has been updated by our upstream, 65717 will be in the data. We already have the json schedule ready. Once the lineup is updated, the "lastUpdated" will be refreshed, so your client will know that it has to download the update.

Re: Channel missing after call sign change?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2015 2:53 pm
by GameGod
Is there any indication on when that update will happen? Since there's less than 3 days of data currently available for this channel, I am hoping that will happen before it runs out.

Thanks.

Re: Channel missing after call sign change?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2015 4:08 pm
by rkulagow
Did you get anything in the mail from Comcast indicating when they are performing the switchover?

Re: Channel missing after call sign change?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2015 6:24 pm
by GameGod
I believe it's on the 15th, if I recall correctly. I'll double check and update this post if required.
The xmltv service has had both channels for over a week now. Is the json service expected to lag that far behind?

Re: Channel missing after call sign change?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2015 9:08 am
by rkulagow
The two services use different backend databases from Gracenote; the backend feeding our JSON service still doesn't show the lineup change.

Is the new channel actually active yet? If yes, what's the channel number?

Re: Channel missing after call sign change?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2015 10:05 am
by GameGod
It's only a call sign change, on an already active channel. However, the back end is treating it as two different channels. The channel number is 748.

I also double checked and this change is not officially listed on my bill. However, I don't think Comcast ever lists a call sign change in their bill.

The problem remains that this channel is running out of data in 2 days.